top of page
  • Writer's pictureZach May

McNair Conference and Takeaways

Updated: May 10, 2023

Over the recent spring break in 2023, my McNair cohort went to the National Conference for McNair Scholars and Undergraduate Research at the University of Maryland in College Park, MD. Since we want to pursue either a masters or Ph.D, we were given this incredible opportunity to experience a research conference. While we all were encouraged to participate in the various activities the conference had to offer. I saw keynote speakers, walked around the poster exhibition, and viewed a couple of oral presentation. The main goal was to engage with other McNair students during our conference.


The UWEC McNair members and directors that attended the conference.
What I did

Personally, I enjoyed seeing what other McNair students were researching and how different each project is from each other. Nonetheless, I think all of the research I saw was important. When I went to the poster presentation, I decided to speak to a few individuals about their projects. I would have them give me the rundown on their project and I would ask questions. My questions weren’t always directly research-based. I focused more on what inspired the student to pursue their topic, was it their own project? Did a professor approach them? Were they already a part of a lab? What do your loved ones think? These were questions that I asked to peel back the academic layer of the conference. Although research is academic, I think it is important to remember that each researcher has a life that exists beyond their research. I realize that the other undergraduate researchers have lives and have their own stories that pushed them to where they are today.


Aside from attending the poster presentations, I also attended two oral presentations. One was about flatworms and another on intergenerational transmission of trauma in Latinx families. I enjoyed watching those because I could see how other people go about presenting their research. I also could see what I would and wouldn't do. I commend everyone that presents their research especially at the undergraduate level.


Reflecting on the conference

I applaud the presenters because I can imagine how stressful it can be to be thoroughly prepared. I think as a viewer, these were much more interesting because it gave the presenter the opportunity to share in-depth their research with people who are interested. Overall, engaging with others’ work during the conference was impactful because it helped orient me on what to consider while developing my research plan. Above all, it was motivating. In many conversations, various scholars mentioned that they had, at some point, felt a lull in their motivation or lost their focus and the motivation to keep working. The scholars also said that they were all able to push through and continue with the support from their advisors, friends and other loved ones. I related to these experiences because I have felt the same way while planning my research project. It is hard to see progress happen when it is paperwork, orientation, getting background knowledge, and reading. But, as the project develops and takes shape, it becomes more exciting.


Final thoughts

So, in all attending the National Conference for McNair Scholars and Undergraduate Research gave me valuable insights into the research process, as well as the opportunity to meet other McNair scholars from around the country. I enjoyed learning about the diverse research projects. The whole experience made me want to carry on and finish my research project so I can present and share my own work at a future conference.


Published on April 5th, 2023.

11 views
bottom of page