top of page
  • Writer's pictureZach May

The Final Semester: Navigating Fulbright and Research Endeavors

Updated: Oct 1, 2023

As I start my final semester at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire (UWEC) and I am filled with excitement, anxiety, anticipation and determination. My final semester is focused on intertwining my academic endeavors in a way that emphasizes my interest in international education.


The Fulbright Dream


One of my most ambitious goals this year is applying to the Fulbright Program.

I am currently in the application process for Fulbright. For those who don’t know, The Fulbright Program is a prestigious international scholarship program that provides opportunities for students, scholars, and professionals from the United States to study, teach, or conduct research abroad. It aims to promote mutual understanding and cultural exchange between the United States and other nations through educational and cultural experiences. Last week, I met with the UWEC Fulbright campus committee to discuss what improvements could be made to improve my application. The feedback and suggestions shared by the committee will help guide me as I revise my essays for the upcoming national deadline on October 10th. The upcoming week will be dedicated to making those revisions and going to various on campus resources such as the writing center to make sure it is the best it can be.


Research Evolution

In addition to applying to Fulbright, my research has entered an important phase. Additionally, my research is moving into the data analysis phase. Upon closing the Qualtrics survey, we concluded the data collection phase. I will begin cleaning and coding the quantitative data using Microsoft Excel. This process has several steps, such as removing ineligible responses and assigning numerical values to each answer. This data preparation seems meticulous, but it is essential because it allows for analysis using R and R-Studio. My advisor, Dr. Barahona-López has told me that data analysis can be tedious, but I am prepared for this. I anticipate the patterns, trends, and correlations within the data to be much more exciting than the challenges that may lie ahead.


The Intersection of Aspirations

What marks this semester as remarkable is how my two aspirations intersect. My dream of participation in Fulbright and my research are not two random decisions in my life. They are experiences that provide me with many opportunities to grow, both academically and personally. Going through this semester I am aware that these experiences not only help shape my future but they contribute to my goal of finding opportunities to improve my own understanding of the world through education.

In my final semester at UWEC, my research project and my application to Fulbright are more than academic goals, they are opportunities to reach above and beyond to expand my own learning as well as push me closer to my dream of a career in international education.



7 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page